Access list 2008/2009

UEFA European Cup Football
by Bert Kassies

The Champions League cup-holder spot will not be used because Manchester United already qualified for the group stage of the Champions League. This implies that the champions of the 23th and 24th countries on the ranking list (Wisla Kraków, Poland and MTK Budapest, Hungary) gain direct access to the 2nd qualifying round, the CL entrant of the 16th country on the ranking list (Levski Sofia, Bulgaria) gains direct access to the 3rd qualifying round, and the champion of the 10th country on the ranking list (Celtic, Scotland) gains direct access to the group stage.

The UEFA Cup cup-holder spot will not be used because Zenit St. Petersburg qualified for the Champions league. This implies that the cup winner of the 14th country on the country ranking list (Kayserispor, Turkey) will gain direct access to the 1st round round, and that the 1st UEFA Cup entrants of the 19th and 20th countries on the ranking list (Maccabi Netanya, Israel and Red Star Belgrade, Serbia) have direct access to the 2nd qualifying round of the UEFA Cup.

Association Champions League UEFA Cup Intertoto
GroupQ3Q2Q1 1st roundQ2Q1 R3R2R1
TH TH (16 x CLQ3)(11 x UIC)3 x FP
1Spain CHRUN3N4 CWN5N6 N7
2England CHRUN3N4 CWN5LC N6
3Italy CHRUN3N4 CWN5N6 N7
4France CHRUN3 CWN4LC N5
5Germany CHRUN3 CWN4N5 N6
6Portugal CHRUN3 CWN4N5 N6
7Romania CH RU CWN3N4N5 N6
8Netherlands CH RU CWN3N4N5 N6
9Russia CH RU CW N3 N4
10Scotland CH CH RU CW N3 N4
11Ukraine CH RU CW N3 N4
12Belgium CH RU CW N3 N4
13Czech Republic CH RU CW N3 N4
14Turkey CH RU CW CWN3 N4
15Greece CH RU CWN3 N4
16Bulgaria CH CH CWRU N3 N4
17Switzerland CH CWRU N3 N4
18Norway CH CWRU N3 N4
19Israel CH CW CWRUN3 N4
20Serbia CH CW CWRUN3 N4
21Denmark CH CWRUN3 N4
22Austria CH CWRU N3
23Poland CHCH CWRU N3
24Hungary CHCH CWRU N3
25Slovakia CH CWRU N3
26Croatia CH CWRU N3
27Cyprus CH CWRU N3
28Sweden CH CWRU N3
29Slovenia CH CWRU N3
30Bosnia-Herzegovina CH CWRU N3
31Latvia CH CWRU N3
32Lithuania CH CWRU N3
33Finland CH CWRU N3
34Moldova CH CWRU N3
35Ireland CH CWRU N3
36Georgia CH CWRU N3
37Liechtenstein CW
38Macedonia CH CWRU N3
39Iceland CH CWRU N3
40Belarus CH CWRU N3
41Albania CH CWRU N3
42Estonia CH CWRU N3
43Armenia CH CWRU N3
44Azerbaijan CH CWRU N3
45Kazakhstan CH CWRU N3
46Northern Ireland CH CWRU N3
47Wales CH CWRU N3
48Faroe Islands CH CWRU N3
49Luxembourg CH CWRU N3
50Malta CH CWRU N3
51Andorra CH CW
52San Marino CH CW
53Montenegro CH CWRU N3
250 teams 16181330 321576 81428

TH = title-holder
CH = domestic champion club
RU = dometic league runner-up
N3 = domestic league 3rd-placed club
N4 = domestic league 4th-placed club
N5 = domestic league 5th-placed club
N6 = domestic league 6th-placed club
CW = domestic cup-winner
LC = league cup-winner
UIC= club qualified via UEFA Intertoto Cup
FP = club qualified via Fair Play rankings
Q  = qualifying rounds

back to the UEFA European Cup Football pages