UEFA Cup regions
by Bert Kassies

[Main]   [Database]

Before 2009, in the qualifying rounds of the UEFA Cup and in the Intertoto Cup, the seeding system based on club coefficients ranking was applied within each regional group. Compliance with the regions was implemented as far as possible. Exceptions were necessary (see below).

There were three regions:

  • Southern-Mediterranean: Albania, Andorra, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Greece, Israel, Italy, Macedonia, Malta, Montenegro, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, and Turkey.
  • Central-East: Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Czech Republic, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein, Moldova, Poland, Russia, Slovakia, Switzerland, and Ukraine.
  • Northern: Belgium, Denmark, England, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Scotland, Sweden, and Wales.

Regions used in the qualifying rounds of the UEFA Cup

UEFA applied the following exceptions to the regions
(in order to get an even number of teams in each group):

2008 uc/QR1: Liechtenstein -> South
2008 uc/QR1: Serbia -> Central

2008 it/R1: Luxembourg -> Central
2008 it/R2: Switzerland -> South
2008 it/R2: Belgium -> Central
2008 it/R3: Romania -> Central

2007 uc/QR1: San Marino -> North
2007 uc/QR1: Belarus -> North
2007 uc/QR2: Belarus -> North

2007 it/R1: Luxembourg -> Central
2007 it/R2: Poland -> North
2007 it/R3: Greece -> Central

2006 uc/QR1: Belgium -> South
2006 uc/QR2: Belgium2 -> South (Belgium1 = North)
2006 uc/QR2: France2 -> South (France1 = Central)

2006 it/R1: Luxembourg -> Central
2006 it/R2: Hungary -> South
2006 it/R3: Belgium -> Central

2005 uc/QR2: Germany -> North
2005 uc/QR2: Liechtenstein -> South

2004 uc/QR1: Liechtenstein -> North
2004 uc/QR2: Liechtenstein -> North

See UEFA European Cup Football page for more info.

Bert Kassies bert@kassiesa.net